more from
Dox Records
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
supported by
Josh Donald
Josh Donald thumbnail
Josh Donald This whole thing is brilliant! Latin and African influences on every other track! The talent level is off the charts on this release.

I love New Cool. Keep up the brilliant trend of being an incredible force in music!!

Favorite track: Elegua.
john greenwood
john greenwood thumbnail
john greenwood creative, stimulating and bright. Must Have Good Music. Favorite track: Imbia Bwana.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €8 EUR  or more


  • CD (Digipack)
    Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Sugar Protocol via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out

Yuliet 05:01
Imbia Bwana 05:08
Chacha Were 08:25
Mawa 05:34
Cita Rápida 03:20
Elegua 04:29
Nishiombo 04:24
Gracias 04:32



With New Cool Collective being known for their unique sound, there are proving right on their 8th album more than ever. After the last, very successful, album ‘Out Of Office’ which was released in Japan, Greece, Germany and the Benelux they return with a instant classic.

Jazz already was no longer the standard for New Cool Collective, mixing various sounds into one, on Sugar Protocol they mix the ultimate Cuban rhythms with traditional African tribe sound to one complete new feel.

Working together on Sugar Protocol with famous Cuban rumberos ‘Los Papines’ and African band ‘Mapacha Africa’ makes this album a musical trip throughout the jungle’s of Africa and the typical musical Cuban feel al mixed with the New Cool Collective jazz, groove, salsa and Latin Dance. A musical bridge between Cuba, Africa & Europe.


released September 19, 2009

Track 1 composed by New Cool Collective & Los Papines
Track 5 composed by New Cool Collective, Los Papines & Mapacha Africa
Tracks 2, 4, 7 & 9 composed by Mapacha Africa, arranged by New Cool Collective
Tracks 3, 6 & 8 composed by Los Papines, arranged by New Cool Collective

// Mapacha Africa
Isaack Sidaka - Adeu Adeu Bass
Donald Mulongo - Adeu Adeu Bass Kick
Shadrack Onyango - Adeu Adeu Selector & Vocals
John Asesi - Adeu Adeu Rhythm & Vocals
Kassim Erima- Adeu Adeu Solo & Vocals
Maurice Mala - Drums & Vocals
Robinson Odhiambo - Djembe

// Los Papines
Ricardo ’Papin’ Abreu - Quinto, Tumbadora & Lead Vocals
Luis Abreu Sr. - Tres Golpes, Tumbadora, Campana & Vocals
Jesús Abreu - Cajita Musical & Vocals
Yuliet Abreu - Paila (Timbales), Tumbadoras & Vocals
Luisito Abreu - Tumbadoras, Chekeré & Vocals

// New Cool Collective
Benjamin Herman -Saxophones
David Rockefeller - Trumpet, Trombone & Flugelhorn
Anton Goudsmit - Guitar
Willem Friede - Fender Rhodes & Electronics
Leslie López - Electric Bass & Baby Bass
Joost Kroon - Drums
Frank van Dok - Percussion
Jos de Haas - Percussion

Produced by New Cool Collective
Executive producer: Dox Records

Recorded by Peter Riebeek & Joeri Saal at Studio 150
Mixed by Joeri Saal at Studio 150
Mastered by Zlaya at Loud


all rights reserved



New Cool Collective Amsterdam, The Netherlands

8-piece jazz combo / 21-piece Big Band still going strong after 25 years of grooving. Playing a crossover of jazz, cumbia, afro, surf, boogaloo and more.


contact / help

Contact New Cool Collective

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Sugar Protocol, you may also like: